Home > Places > Danube Delta > Attractions

Attractions

MAJOR ATTRACTIONS AND SIGHTS

BABADAG is a town situated 23 miles south of Tulcea, on the shore of a lake, at the foot of forests by the same name. A name of oriental origin, Babadag can be translated as " the Father of the Mountains". A Turkish minority are still part of the town's population amounting to 9,000. Art lovers may like to visit the town's art museum, a museum house of oriental character, a mosque dating from the 16th century, which is actually the oldest monument of Moslem architecture in Romania, with a spire of 23 m in height, as well as the Kalaigi drinking fountain (19th century). For those interested in history, there are to be found ruins of a settlement dating back to the Iron Age over which traces of life in La Tcne (4th century b.C.) and subsequently of the Roman-Byzantine epoch (6th century A.D.) were superimposed.

Around June 15 there is a great picnic in the lime tree forest in the proximity of the town. Babadag is a useful base for exploring the west shore of lake Razim. There is a bus-service to Enisala and Jurilovca. South of Babina, at about 10 km distance, there is the lake Rosca which harbours geese, egrets, storks and Europe's largest pelican colony.

Bisericuta, an island on lake Razim, is located approximately 6,5 miles east of Unirea. Remains of settlements dating from the Bronze Age and Byzantine times can still be seen.

Caraorman ("the black forest") is a village situated on the sandbank of the same name, south of the locality of Crisan (Sulina Arm). Around it are sanddunes nearly four feet high and an oak tree forest of a tropical aspect, which is now a strict reserve, protecting wildlife such as owls, eagles, falcons, wildcats, boars and wolves.

("the black forest") is a village situated on the sandbank of the same name, south of the locality of Crisan (Sulina Arm). Around it are sanddunes nearly four feet high and an oak tree forest of a tropical aspect, which is now a strict reserve, protecting wildlife such as .

Chilia Veche is a village situated 50 miles north-east of Tulcea on Chilia Arm. It was one of the earliest deltaic human settlements known as Achillea during the Greek antiquity, as Licostomo (two wolf's mouths) by the Genoese, and as Eskil-Kalé during the Turkish domination. In the 15th century it was one of the main Moldavian towns. In 1479 Prince Stephen the Great rebuilt the walled city at Chiliă¡ (today in Ukraine) using 800 bricklayers and 17,000 workers. It is the most striking example of the degree of development of the construction techniques reached in Moldavia in the 15th century. At that time, Chilia Veche was situated at about 3 miles from the seashore; at present it lies 25 miles from the sea. Its monumental church, with steeples of over 90 feet high, is visible from quite a distance. At 8 km farther, the hamlet of Câslita lies at the end of a picturesque track, which runs through an old forest inhabited by foxes and wild boar.

is a village situated 50 miles north-east of Tulcea on Chilia Arm. It was one of the earliest deltaic human settlements known as Achillea during the Greek antiquity, as Licostomo (two wolf's mouths) by the Genoese, and as Eskil-Kalé during the Turkish domination. In the 15th century it was one of the main Moldavian towns. In 1479 rebuilt the walled city at Chiliă¡ (today in Ukraine) using 800 bricklayers and 17,000 workers. It is the most . At that time, Chilia Veche was situated at about 3 miles from the seashore; at present it lies 25 miles from the sea. Its monumental church, with steeples of over 90 feet high, is visible from quite a distance. At 8 km farther, the hamlet of Câslita lies at the end of a picturesque track, which runs through an old forest inhabited by foxes and wild boar.

Crisan, a village situated on the banks of Sulina Canal, is the main starting point for a trip both toward the north (Matita, Letea) and toward the south (Caraorman, Litcov, Rosu-Rosulet). A monument here commemorates inauguration of the Sulina Canal (1859). It has a fisheries station, a hotel, and a camping.

, a village situated on the banks of Sulina Canal, is the main starting point for a trip both toward the north (Matita, Letea) and toward the south (Caraorman, Litcov, Rosu-Rosulet). A monument here commemorates inauguration of the Sulina Canal (1859). It has a fisheries station, a hotel, and a camping.

Denistepe (Dealul Mare) lies north to Babadag (876 feet in elevation), and its name is of oriental origin, i.e. "the hillock of the seas". A legend has it that the Argonauts who had set out in search of the Golden Fleece from Colchis moored their ship here by tying it to the iron ring fixed at the top of nearby rocks. Scientists from Grusia investigated the tale of the Golden Fleece and discovered the method used by the ancient inhabitants of Colchis in order to get gold from the rivers of the Caucasus by means of a ram's hide tanned in a special manner.

(Dealul Mare) lies north to Babadag (876 feet in elevation), and its name is of oriental origin, i.e. "the hillock of the seas". . Scientists from Grusia investigated the tale of the Golden Fleece and discovered the method used by the ancient inhabitants of Colchis in order to get gold from the rivers of the Caucasus by means of a ram's hide tanned in a special manner.

Enisala is a village situated 5 miles east of Babadag, and about 1 km from the ruined Heracleia Citadel, which overlooks lake Razim. Along its history, it was a Getic-Thracian settlement, later on the greatest Dacian necropolis in Dobrudja, and further on a Roman military camp. What can be seen today are the ruins of the Byzantine fortress of Heracleia (645-650 A.D.) rebuilt by the Genoese in the 13th century to secure trade at the mouths of the Danube. At some point, it was a Turkish fortification, and in the 14th century it was ruled by Mircea the Old, Prince of Wallachia. It is an important station for the artificial breeding of fish.

is a village situated 5 miles east of Babadag, and about 1 km from the ruined , which overlooks lake Razim. Along its history, it was a Getic-Thracian settlement, later on the greatest Dacian necropolis in Dobrudja, and further on a Roman military camp. What can be seen today are the ruins of the Byzantine fortress of Heracleia (645-650 A.D.) rebuilt by the Genoese in the 13th century to secure trade at the mouths of the Danube. At some point, it was a Turkish fortification, and in the 14th century it was ruled by Mircea the Old, Prince of Wallachia. It is an important station for the artificial breeding of fish.

Gura Portitei is a village of a few Lipovani reed huts which connects the waters of the Razim-Golovita complex with the sea about 7 miles from Unirea. It has been marked on European maps ever since 1710. There is a fisheries station, a campsite, chalets and a restaurant. It is a peaceful, secluded place sought by Romanian intellectuals, and the starting point for those who go to the Periteasca-Leahova seabird reserve, to the north

is a village of a few Lipovani reed huts which connects the waters of the Razim-Golovita complex with the sea about 7 miles from Unirea. It has been marked on European maps ever since 1710. There is a fisheries station, a campsite, chalets and a restaurant. It is a peaceful, secluded place sought by Romanian intellectuals, and the starting point for those who go to the Periteasca-Leahova seabird reserve, to the north

Independenta (former Murighiol), a village situated 25 miles south-east of Tulcea, is placed at the main turn of the Sfântu Gheorghe branch. A health resort of local interest, it is also named Morughiol, i.e. "the violet lake", because of the colour of the lake, whose mud and water have therapeutic properties. Nearby salt marshes, there is a natural reserve, which is the favourite nesting place of wading birds. One can reach Sfântu Gheorghe branch by boat. In the vicinity are the remains of a Genoese fortification. A camping ground is also available. At 65 km to Constanta, Istria or HISTRIA, whose name derives from the ancient name of the Danube - Istros, was founded by Greek colonists (merchants and sailors) come from Milet (a city situated on the western coast of Asia Minor in today's Turkey). By the end of the 1st century B.C. the Romans took over, so that the traces that make up present-day the archaeological site today like defence walls, squares, temples, basilicas, thermae, shops, workshops, household tools and items, remnants of frontispieces, of other architectural elements, and of streets evince a Roman-Byzantine urban organization and a flourishing civilization (5-6th centuries A.D.) which lasted until the 7th century A.D., when the town was left by its inhabitants and fell into oblivion.

(former Murighiol), a village situated 25 miles south-east of Tulcea, is placed at the main turn of the Sfântu Gheorghe branch. A health resort of local interest, it is also named Morughiol, i.e. "the violet lake", because of the colour of the lake, whose mud and water have therapeutic properties. Nearby salt marshes, there is a natural reserve, which is the favourite nesting place of wading birds. One can reach Sfântu Gheorghe branch by boat. In the vicinity are the remains of a Genoese fortification. A camping ground is also available. At 65 km to Constanta, Istria or , whose name derives from the ancient name of the Danube -, was founded by Greek colonists (merchants and sailors) come from Milet (a city situated on the western coast of Asia Minor in today's Turkey). By the end of the 1st century B.C. the Romans took over, so that the traces that make up present-day the archaeological site today like defence walls, squares, temples, basilicas, thermae, shops, workshops, household tools and items, remnants of frontispieces, of other architectural elements, and of streets evince a Roman-Byzantine urban organization and a flourishing civilization (5-6th centuries A.D.) which lasted until the 7th century A.D., when the town was left by its inhabitants and fell into oblivion.

Letea is a village on the sandbank by the same name, south to the village of Periprava (Chilia branch). In its proximity is the Letea forest, very much like a tropical forest, with grey oaks tangled with lianas, elms and poplars, which make up a strict reserve inhabited by falcons, owls, black-winged stills, avocets and red-crested pochards, white-tailed eagles and wildcats, as well as snakes. The forest is surrounded by sanddunes, where tortoises, lizards and some 1800 species of insects are to be found.

is a village on the sandbank by the same name, south to the village of Periprava (Chilia branch). In its proximity is the Letea forest, very much like a tropical forest, with grey oaks tangled with lianas, elms and poplars, which make up a strict reserve inhabited by falcons, owls, black-winged stills, avocets and red-crested pochards, white-tailed eagles and wildcats, as well as snakes. The forest is surrounded by sanddunes, where tortoises, lizards and some 1800 species of insects are to be found.

Mahmudia, a village situated 22 miles south-east of Tulcea on the road to Independenta, is a river port. Remains of a Roman-Byzantine fortress named Salsovia - Sunrise, dating back to 322 B.C., are still to be seen. The village is now the chief town of a bishopric. It is claimed that this is the place where Licinnius was killed by order of Constantine the Great, with whom he shared the throne of Byzantium in A.D. 325.

, a village situated 22 miles south-east of Tulcea on the road to Independenta, is a river port. Remains of a Roman-Byzantine fortress named Salsovia - Sunrise, dating back to 322 B.C., are still to be seen. The village is now the chief town of a bishopric. It is claimed that this is the place where Licinnius was killed by order of Constantine the Great, with whom he shared the throne of Byzantium in A.D. 325.

Maliuc is a village on the Sulina branch of the Danube, and an important starting point for trips to Mile 23 village and lakes Fortuna and Papadia.

is a village on the Sulina branch of the Danube, and an important starting point for trips to Mile 23 village and lakes Fortuna and Papadia.

Mile 23 is a typical fishing settlement located in the first loop of the "Great M" (on the "Old Danube"). The village is made up of reed cottages. Men's main occupation is fishing, while their wives tend the gardens of vegetables, the orchards of plum, quince and pear trees, and the vineyards. Golden orioles (which nest in pear trees) and sladder-frogs are the commonest forms of wildlife around there. It has a fisheries station and is a locality of high touristic interest for trips to lakes Leghianca, Matita, and Rosca, and to the sandbanks of Stipoc and Chilia, which are about 7.5 miles from the village of Crisan.

is a typical fishing settlement located in the first loop of the "Great M" (on the "Old Danube"). The village is made up of reed cottages. Men's main occupation is fishing, while their wives tend the gardens of vegetables, the orchards of plum, quince and pear trees, and the vineyards. Golden orioles (which nest in pear trees) and sladder-frogs are the commonest forms of wildlife around there. It has a fisheries station and is a locality of high touristic interest for trips to lakes , and , and to the sandbanks of Stipoc and Chilia, which are about 7.5 miles from the village of Crisan.

Pebiteasca - Leahova fauna reserve is situated in the lagoon area of Razim-Sinoe lakes (3,900 ha); its fauna is formed of coast birds. The area includes a series of sand banks and the lakes of Leahova Mare and Mica, Periteasca, Pahane and Cosna.

fauna reserve is situated in the lagoon area of Razim-Sinoe lakes (3,900 ha); its fauna is formed of coast birds. The area includes a series of sand banks and the lakes of and , and .

Periprava, an ancient fishery and trade centre (Licostoma) is now a village situated 65 miles north-east of Tulcea, in the proximity of the third and last inland delta of Chilia branch. A typical fishing settlement of tourist interest, it is a starting point for trips towards Letea sandbank and forest, to Lakes Merhei and Matita, to the Lopatna Canal, as well as to Mile 23 village.

an ancient fishery and trade centre is now a village situated 65 miles north-east of Tulcea, in the proximity of the third and last inland delta of Chilia branch. A typical fishing settlement of tourist interest, it is a starting point for trips towards Letea sandbank and forest, to , to the l, as well as to village.

Perisor - Zatoane is a natural reserve south of Sfântu Gheorghe. On 14,200 ha, numerous swans, pelicans and cormorants find their nesting place. The interest in this reserve lies in the Zatonul Mare and Zatonul Mic lakes.

is a natural reserve south of Sfântu Gheorghe. On 14,200 ha, numerous swans, pelicans and cormorants find their nesting place. The interest in this reserve lies in the and lakes.

Popina is an island in the northern part of Lake Razim which is also known as Pochina on 19th century maps. Its surface covers 225 acres; its height, a record for the whole Danube Delta, is 154 feet in elevation. It is a natural microreserve - a place where red winter ducks and shore swallows like to nestle. In November and December, Lake Razim's western shoreline is invaded by a million white-fronted geese and 20,000 red-breasted geese (half the world population), which come from arctic Russia, and stay there, or around Istria farther to the south, until the reedbeds freeze

is an island in the northern part of which is also known as on 19th century maps. Its surface covers 225 acres; . It is a - a place where and like to nestle. In November and December, Lake Razim's western shoreline is invaded by a million white-fronted geese and 20,000 red-breasted geese (half the world population), which come from arctic Russia, and stay there, or around Istria farther to the south, until the reedbeds freeze

Rosca - Buhaiova - Hrecisca is a fauna reserve situated in the Matita depression, between the Letea and the Chilia sandbanks; it has a surface of 15,400 ha. This is a spring nesting place for the greatest pelican colony in Europe. Amidst its lush vegetation, there are colonies of egrets, spoon bills and yellow herons.

is a fauna reserve situated in the Matita depression, between the Letea and the Chilia sandbanks; it has a surface of 15,400 ha. . Amidst its lush vegetation, there are colonies of egrets, spoon bills and yellow herons.

Sfântu Gheorghe, a village situated at the spot where the branch of the Danube by the same name flows into the sea, lies 70 miles south-east of Tulcea. Mentioned in records as early as 1318, the settlement was later used as a military base by the Ottoman fleet. Its typical deltaic architecture and the possibility of eating one's fill of black caviar (sturgeon eggs) arouse tourists' interest. It has a fisheries station for the processing of black caviar, a new lighthouse (187 feet high), and an old lighthouse (1856). It has the most extensive sea beach on the littoral of the Black Sea. In its proximity are the Saraturile Sandbank and Sacalin Island (formed in 1897), which is a microdelta of Sfântu Gheorghe branch.

, a village situated at the spot where the branch of the Danube by the same name flows into the sea, lies 70 miles south-east of Tulcea. Mentioned in records as early as 1318, the settlement was later used as a military base by the Ottoman fleet. Its typical deltaic architecture and the possibility of eating one's fill of black caviar (sturgeon eggs) arouse tourists' interest. It has a fisheries station for the processing of black caviar, a new lighthouse (187 feet high), and an old lighthouse (1856). It has the most extensive sea beach on the littoral of the Black Sea. In its proximity are the and (formed in 1897), which is a microdelta of Sfântu Gheorghe branch.

SULINA, the second town of the delta after Tulcea, is an important river and sea port situated at the spot where the river branch by the same name flows into the sea. The town has a shipyard, light manufacturing, and a food industry. Around 950 it was a Byzantine port by the name of Sellina, a Genoese port in 1318, and later on a naval base for the Ottomans. Early in the 20th century it became a free port, the Porto Franco described at length in the novel Europolis by the Romanian writer Jean Bart (Eugeniu Botez). In 1802, a still existent building hosted the European Commission for the Danube. An old lighthouse of typical deltaic architecture (dating from the 19th century) stands in the middle of the town. The town has a hotel and an extensive maritime beach.

, the second town of the delta after Tulcea, is an important river and sea port situated at the spot where the river branch by the same name flows into the sea. The town has a shipyard, light manufacturing, and a food industry. Around 950 it was a Byzantine port by the name of Sellina, a Genoese port in 1318, and later on a naval base for the Ottomans. Early in the 20th century it became a free port, the Porto Franco described at length in the novel Europolis by the Romanian writer Jean Bart (Eugeniu Botez). In 1802, a still existent building hosted the European Commission for the Danube. An old lighthouse of typical deltaic architecture (dating from the 19th century) stands in the middle of the town. The town has a hotel and an extensive maritime beach.

Troesmis Fortress, at 30 km from Turcoaia village, is a Thracian-Getic fortress mentioned in the 3rd century B.C. during the conflict between Lysimach and Dromichet. In the Roman era it became a strong military centre. Between the 1st century and the 7th century A.D. it was one of the greatest towns in Dobrudja.

, at 30 km from Turcoaia village, is a Thracian-Getic fortress mentioned in the 3rd century B.C. during the conflict between Lysimach and Dromichet. In the Roman era it became a strong military centre. Between the 1st century and the 7th century A.D. it was one of the greatest towns in Dobrudja.

The gateway to the Danube Delta is the town of TULCEA, a port situated on the Tulcea channel which splits towards east into the main branches of the Danube, namely the Sulina channel in the middle and the Sfântu Gheorghe one in the southern part of the Danube Delta.

The town, spread on seven hillocks just like the famous Rome, was inhabited ever since the 7th c.B.C.. The ancient Castrum Aegyssus mentioned by Herodotus and later on by Ovid, was founded by the Greeks in the 3rd century B.C. and conquered by the Romans two centuries later. Written documents mention the name of Tulcea in the 17th century when it was well known due to its numerous wind mills. At 334 km distance from Bucharest and 123 km away from Constanta, Tulcea is nowadays an industrial town, a sea and river port, with a population of about 110,000 inhabitants.

A visit to the museums in town, namely the Delta Museum, the Ethnographical Museum, the Art Museum, the History and Archeology Museum, as well as to the Romanian Orthodox Cathedral and to the Turkish Mosque of Azizie, or a walk to the Independence Monument Hill may provide specialists as well as non specialists with useful and interesting information regarding the natural environment along with the cultural background of the town of Tulcea, and of its surroundings.

Tulcea is also host to two festivals, namely the International Folk Festival of the Danubian Countries held in August and a winter carnival in December.

Unirea (former Jurilovca), a settlement on the shore of Lake Golovita, is a typical fishing village founded in the 18th century. Its architecture, costumes, and customs are of Lipovan tradition. It has a museum and a hotel. From the port of the fisheries station, motorboats start at regular hours for the tourist centre of Portita. At Dolojman Cape are the remains of a Greek town, probably Argamum (Orgame), the earliest ancient settlement on the territory of Romania mentioned in written documents during the time of Hecateus of Milletus (5th-6th centuries B.C.)

(former Jurilovca), a settlement on the shore of Lake Golovita, is a . Its architecture, costumes, and customs are of Lipovan tradition. It has a museum and a hotel. From the port of the fisheries station, motorboats start at regular hours for the tourist centre of Portita. At are the , probably(Orgame), mentioned in written documents during the time of Hecateus of Milletus (.)

Uzlina, a village 40 miles south-east of Tulcea, is one of the few fishing settlements on the left bank of Sfântu Gheorghe branch. Here are the central offices of the Biosphere Reserve of the Danube Delta and of the Cousteau Foundation. The Isac and Uzlina lakes to the north are protected areas for pelican colonies.

, a village 40 miles south-east of Tulcea, is one of the few fishing settlements on the left bank of Sfântu Gheorghe branch. Here are the central offices of the and of the . The Isac and Uzlina lakes to the north are protected areas for . is a town situated 23 miles south of Tulcea, on the shore of a lake, at the foot of forests by the same name. A name of oriental origin, Babadag can be translated as " the Father of the Mountains". A Turkish minority are still part of the town's population amounting to 9,000. Art lovers may like to visit the town's art museum, a museum house of oriental character, a mosque dating from the 16th century, which is actually the oldest monument of Moslem architecture in Romania, with a spire of 23 m in height, as well as the Kalaigi drinking fountain (19th century). For those interested in history, there are to be found ruins of a settlement dating back to the Iron Age over which traces of life in La Tcne (4th century b.C.) and subsequently of the Roman-Byzantine epoch (6th century A.D.) were superimposed. ("the black forest") is a village situated on the sandbank of the same name, south of the locality of Crisan (Sulina Arm). Around it are sanddunes nearly four feet high and an oak tree forest of a tropical aspect, which is now a strict reserve, protecting wildlife such as . is a village situated 50 miles north-east of Tulcea on Chilia Arm. It was one of the earliest deltaic human settlements known as Achillea during the Greek antiquity, as Licostomo (two wolf's mouths) by the Genoese, and as Eskil-Kalé during the Turkish domination. In the 15th century it was one of the main Moldavian towns. In 1479 rebuilt the walled city at Chiliă (today in Ukraine) using 800 bricklayers and 17,000 workers. It is the most . At that time, Chilia Veche was situated at about 3 miles from the seashore; at present it lies 25 miles from the sea. Its monumental church, with steeples of over 90 feet high, is visible from quite a distance. At 8 km farther, the hamlet of Câslita lies at the end of a picturesque track, which runs through an old forest inhabited by foxes and wild boar., a village situated on the banks of Sulina Canal, is the main starting point for a trip both toward the north (Matita, Letea) and toward the south (Caraorman, Litcov, Rosu-Rosulet). A monument here commemorates inauguration of the Sulina Canal (1859). It has a fisheries station, a hotel, and a camping. (Dealul Mare) lies north to Babadag (876 feet in elevation), and its name is of oriental origin, i.e. "the hillock of the seas". . Scientists from Grusia investigated the tale of the Golden Fleece and discovered the method used by the ancient inhabitants of Colchis in order to get gold from the rivers of the Caucasus by means of a ram's hide tanned in a special manner. is a village situated 5 miles east of Babadag, and about 1 km from the ruined , which overlooks lake Razim. Along its history, it was a Getic-Thracian settlement, later on the greatest Dacian necropolis in Dobrudja, and further on a Roman military camp. What can be seen today are the ruins of the Byzantine fortress of Heracleia (645-650 A.D.) rebuilt by the Genoese in the 13th century to secure trade at the mouths of the Danube. At some point, it was a Turkish fortification, and in the 14th century it was ruled by Mircea the Old, Prince of Wallachia. It is an important station for the artificial breeding of fish. is a village of a few Lipovani reed huts which connects the waters of the Razim-Golovita complex with the sea about 7 miles from Unirea. It has been marked on European maps ever since 1710. There is a fisheries station, a campsite, chalets and a restaurant. It is a peaceful, secluded place sought by Romanian intellectuals, and the starting point for those who go to the Periteasca-Leahova seabird reserve, to the north (former Murighiol), a village situated 25 miles south-east of Tulcea, is placed at the main turn of the Sfântu Gheorghe branch. A health resort of local interest, it is also named Morughiol, i.e. "the violet lake", because of the colour of the lake, whose mud and water have therapeutic properties. Nearby salt marshes, there is a natural reserve, which is the favourite nesting place of wading birds. One can reach Sfântu Gheorghe branch by boat. In the vicinity are the remains of a Genoese fortification. A camping ground is also available. At 65 km to Constanta, Istria or , whose name derives from the ancient name of the Danube -, was founded by Greek colonists (merchants and sailors) come from Milet (a city situated on the western coast of Asia Minor in today's Turkey). By the end of the 1st century B.C. the Romans took over, so that the traces that make up present-day the archaeological site today like defence walls, squares, temples, basilicas, thermae, shops, workshops, household tools and items, remnants of frontispieces, of other architectural elements, and of streets evince a Roman-Byzantine urban organization and a flourishing civilization (5-6th centuries A.D.) which lasted until the 7th century A.D., when the town was left by its inhabitants and fell into oblivion. is a village on the sandbank by the same name, south to the village of Periprava (Chilia branch). In its proximity is the Letea forest, very much like a tropical forest, with grey oaks tangled with lianas, elms and poplars, which make up a strict reserve inhabited by falcons, owls, black-winged stills, avocets and red-crested pochards, white-tailed eagles and wildcats, as well as snakes. The forest is surrounded by sanddunes, where tortoises, lizards and some 1800 species of insects are to be found., a village situated 22 miles south-east of Tulcea on the road to Independenta, is a river port. Remains of a Roman-Byzantine fortress named Salsovia - Sunrise, dating back to 322 B.C., are still to be seen. The village is now the chief town of a bishopric. It is claimed that this is the place where Licinnius was killed by order of Constantine the Great, with whom he shared the throne of Byzantium in A.D. 325. is a village on the Sulina branch of the Danube, and an important starting point for trips to Mile 23 village and lakes Fortuna and Papadia. is a typical fishing settlement located in the first loop of the "Great M" (on the "Old Danube"). The village is made up of reed cottages. Men's main occupation is fishing, while their wives tend the gardens of vegetables, the orchards of plum, quince and pear trees, and the vineyards. Golden orioles (which nest in pear trees) and sladder-frogs are the commonest forms of wildlife around there. It has a fisheries station and is a locality of high touristic interest for trips to lakes , and , and to the sandbanks of Stipoc and Chilia, which are about 7.5 miles from the village of Crisan. fauna reserve is situated in the lagoon area of Razim-Sinoe lakes (3,900 ha); its fauna is formed of coast birds. The area includes a series of sand banks and the lakes of and , and . an ancient fishery and trade centre is now a village situated 65 miles north-east of Tulcea, in the proximity of the third and last inland delta of Chilia branch. A typical fishing settlement of tourist interest, it is a starting point for trips towards Letea sandbank and forest, to , to the l, as well as to village. is a natural reserve south of Sfântu Gheorghe. On 14,200 ha, numerous swans, pelicans and cormorants find their nesting place. The interest in this reserve lies in the and lakes. is an island in the northern part of which is also known as on 19th century maps. Its surface covers 225 acres; . It is a - a place where and like to nestle. In November and December, Lake Razim's western shoreline is invaded by a million white-fronted geese and 20,000 red-breasted geese (half the world population), which come from arctic Russia, and stay there, or around Istria farther to the south, until the reedbeds freeze is a fauna reserve situated in the Matita depression, between the Letea and the Chilia sandbanks; it has a surface of 15,400 ha. . Amidst its lush vegetation, there are colonies of egrets, spoon bills and yellow herons., a village situated at the spot where the branch of the Danube by the same name flows into the sea, lies 70 miles south-east of Tulcea. Mentioned in records as early as 1318, the settlement was later used as a military base by the Ottoman fleet. Its typical deltaic architecture and the possibility of eating one's fill of black caviar (sturgeon eggs) arouse tourists' interest. It has a fisheries station for the processing of black caviar, a new lighthouse (187 feet high), and an old lighthouse (1856). It has the most extensive sea beach on the littoral of the Black Sea. In its proximity are the and (formed in 1897), which is a microdelta of Sfântu Gheorghe branch., the second town of the delta after Tulcea, is an important river and sea port situated at the spot where the river branch by the same name flows into the sea. The town has a shipyard, light manufacturing, and a food industry. Around 950 it was a Byzantine port by the name of Sellina, a Genoese port in 1318, and later on a naval base for the Ottomans. Early in the 20th century it became a free port, the Porto Franco described at length in the novel Europolis by the Romanian writer Jean Bart (Eugeniu Botez). In 1802, a still existent building hosted the European Commission for the Danube. An old lighthouse of typical deltaic architecture (dating from the 19th century) stands in the middle of the town. The town has a hotel and an extensive maritime beach., at 30 km from Turcoaia village, is a Thracian-Getic fortress mentioned in the 3rd century B.C. during the conflict between Lysimach and Dromichet. In the Roman era it became a strong military centre. Between the 1st century and the 7th century A.D. it was one of the greatest towns in Dobrudja. (former Jurilovca), a settlement on the shore of Lake Golovita, is a . Its architecture, costumes, and customs are of Lipovan tradition. It has a museum and a hotel. From the port of the fisheries station, motorboats start at regular hours for the tourist centre of Portita. At are the , probably(Orgame), mentioned in written documents during the time of Hecateus of Milletus (.), a village 40 miles south-east of Tulcea, is one of the few fishing settlements on the left bank of Sfântu Gheorghe branch. Here are the central offices of the and of the . The Isac and Uzlina lakes to the north are protected areas for .